National convention

102nd National Convention Award Recipients

Below is a list of the awards and recipients of the 102nd American Legion National Convention in Phoenix.

Distinguished Service Medal: Diane carlson evans

James V. Day “Good Guy” Award: Mark Eaton (posthumously)

National Color Guard Competitions: Military – Open: American Legion Post 124, Westfield, Mass. Military: Harrisburg American Legion Post 472, Houston Advance / Remove Colors: Newport Harbor American Legion Post 291, Newport Beach, California.

National Law Enforcement Officer of the Year: Sgt. Daniel Martin of Omaha, Neb.

National firefighter of the year: Robert Nagle of Gallitzen, Pennsylvania.

Fourth power : Broadcast: “The Price of Protection … Court-Ordered Trusteeship Issues,” WFTS, Tampa, Fla. Internet / New Media: Coverage of Marine Corps Proposal to Close Parris Island Recruit Depot, “funeral veterans, Messenger of the day, Arlington Heights, Illinois.

Spirit of Service Award (given to active duty military personnel for volunteer work): Air Force Staff Sgt. Army Sgt. Zachariah D. Austin. Marine Corps Cpl Joselito Cabang. Darla L. Dunning Marine Petty Officer 2nd Class Michael P. Monahan Coast Guard Petty Officer 1st Class Jessica Rooks Army National Guard Pvt. 1st Class Alejandro Sanchez

National Recruiter of the Year: Martha A. Bigbie of the American Legion Lester Keate Post 90 in St. George, Utah

Race to the top (given to district commanders who meet at least 100 percent of the district membership goal as of March 31): Bruce Carl

Johnny D. Castro James F. Defrehn Stephen N. Foster James R. Gibson

100% Department Commander of the Year (given to any Department Commander who meets or exceeds the 100% target by the May target date): Milo Vukovich, Department of Mexico

100% Department Membership Reward: Department of Mexico

Henry D. Lindsley Trophy (Membership): Utah Department

OL Bodenhamer Trophy (N ° 1 of the members in the June report): South Dakota Department

Ralph T. O’Neil Education Trophy (for greater American Legion School Medal rewards use activity): Montana Department

Daniel J. O’Connor Americanism Trophy (for the best full Americanism activities): Florida Department

Frank N. Belgrano Trophy (in support of the Boy Scouts of America): Missouri Department

Garland D. Murphy Jr. Award (based on actual contributions received during the year 2021 from the American Legion Child Welfare Foundation): Florida Department

US “Udie” Grant Legacy Award (based on total combined donations from the American Legion Family to the Child Welfare Foundation): Florida Department

Children’s Welfare Foundation Award of Excellence (given for the largest increase in per capita donations to the CLF): Nevada Department

Child Welfare Foundation Award of Excellence: Nevada Department

William F. Lenker National Service Trophy (to better support and implement programs for the benefit of veterans and their families): Pennsylvania Department

Employer of the year (for companies and companies dedicated to hiring veterans): Small Category: Nardis Gun Club Medium Category: CyberDefenses, Inc. Large Category: TriWest Healthcare Alliance

Employer Award for Older Workers: Lynden Air Cargo, LLC

Michael Guty Homeless Veterans Awareness Award: Ohio Department – Ride with Valor

Local Employment Services Office Price: Borderplex Workforce Solutions – American Lower Valley Employment Center

Local Veterans of the Year Employment Representative: Lee ware

Disabled Veterans Awareness Program Specialist of the Year: Trevor Wilson

Improving the lives of people with disabilities: Veteran Plein Air Inc.