National convention

CPA approves 19 subcommittees to oversee national convention

Presidents, secretaries will be inaugurated on March 7

Charles Ajunwa

With 19 subcommittees and a secretariat to provide support/technical services all made up of 1,562 select members, the All Progressives Congress (APC) is poised to hold a hitch-free national convention on March 26 that will produce the party Members of the National Work Committee (CEN).

The composition of the sub-committees for the party’s national convention was approved by the Chairman of the Extraordinary Convention Planning Interim Committee (CECPC), Governor Mai Mala Buni, after a series of consultations.

Secretary of the Interim/Special Convention Planning Committee, Senator John James Akpanudoedehe, who signed the approved list of subcommittees obtained by THISDAY, urged party members to disregard all previous communications to this subject.

Akpanudoedehe also said that the chairpersons and secretaries of the 19 sub-committees would be inaugurated on Monday, March 7, 2022 at the national party secretariat in Abuja by the CECPC chairperson, Governor Mai Mala Buni.

The approved sub-committees of the National Convention are as follows: the Central Coordinating Committee has 12 members with Governor Mai Mala Buni as Chairman and Senator John James Akpannudoedehe as Secretary; The Secretariat responsible for providing technical support/services has eight members with Abdullahi Yusuf Gashu’a as Chair and Dare Oketade as Secretary; The Selection Committee has 88 members with Governor Abdulrasaq Abdulrahman as Chairman and Mr. Shuaibu Aruwa, SAN as Secretary; The Selection Appeal Committee has 88 members with Governor Hope Uzodinma as Chairman and Dr. Danjuma Adamu Dabo as Secretary; The election/planning committee has 87 members with Governor Aminu Masari as chairman and Chief Ikechi Emenike as secretary.

The Election Appeal Committee has 86 members with Governor Dapo Abiodun as Chairman and Mr. Moses Okezie as Secretary; The Legal Committee has 88 members with the Attorney General of the Federation and Minister of Justice, Abubakar Malami as Chairman and Juliet Ibekaku as Secretary; The accommodation committee has 88 members with Governor Bello Matawalle as chairman and Dr. Zainab Gimba as secretary; The grounds/decoration/site maintenance committee has 88 members with Governor Dave Umahi as chair and Senator Stella Oduah as secretary; and the Transport/Logistics Committee has 88 members with Governor Simon Bako Lalong as Chairman and Hajiya Ireti Kingibe as Secretary.

Others are the Media/Publicity Committee which has 87 members with Governor Babajide Sanwo-Olu as Chairman and Kingsley Fanwo as Secretary; The security/protocol committee has 89 members with Governor Yahaya Bello as chairman and General Dahiru Abdulsalam (rtd) as secretary; The Credentials Committee has 89 members with Vice President of the Senate Ovie Omo-Agege as Chair and Hon. Godwin Afangideh as secretary; The entertainment/welfare committee has 89 members with Deputy Speaker of the House of Representatives Ahmed Idris Wase as chairman and Ahmed Bala as secretary.

The medical committee has 89 members with Governor Ben Ayade as chairman and Hon. Ramatu Tijjani Aliyu as secretary; The Budget Committee has 88 members with Governor Inuwa Yahaya as Chairman and Mr. Umana Okon Umana as Secretary; The Finance Committee has 88 members with Governor Badaru Abubakar as Chairman and Senator Margaret Okadigbo as Secretary; The Volunteers/Diplomats/Diaspora/Observers Accreditation Committee has 88 members with Governor Umar Ganduje as Chairman and Abike Dabiri Arewa as Secretary; The digital communications committee has 88 members with Governor Nasiru Ahmed El-Rufai as chairman and Kashifu Inuwa Abdullahi as secretary; and the Convention’s Legacies and Rapporteurs Committee has 46 members with Governor Bagama Umaru Zulum as Chairman and Professor Al-Mustapha Ussiju Medaner as Secretary.

Giving insight into why the APC had to delay its National Convention, an insider from the party office in Abuja, Senator Abubakar Gada, told THISDAY that “as the ruling party, the CECPC of the The APC led by Governor Mai Mala Buni knows that it cannot afford to tow the line of the Peoples Democratic Party (PDP) which has not been conclusive.

Indeed, according to Gada, “the PDP always organizes its zone congresses after its so-called national convention”.

Another leader of the APC, the Hon. Kogi State Information Commissioner Kingsley Falawo told THISDAY that if the APC were to go ahead with the National Convention without the zonal congresses, the costs and indications would be huge due to of the “status of the APC as the ruling party in the country”.

He insists that APC needs to iron out all the details and wonders why “people are eager to drag the party into a dead end. Why will APC give people weapons to go to court where it can be avoided.